I'mNotAWriterBut…

I am a 51 year old working mum of five – not all at home thank goodness. Im a member of the Women for Independence National Executive. This Blog is growing and changing as my hopes and aspirations change. I actually DO expect to change the world but I accept that might not even make sense sometimes. I hope you enjoy the read.

Hello hello hello hellooooooooooooo – is there anybody out there? 

Caution – this article includes a swear word – repeatedly.

Who the fuck is voting Tory?

Can anybody tell me? I see the supportive news reports, the Tory newspapers, the Theresa May rallies, I see the Tory manifesto launch, the opinion polls putting the Tories in front. And yet I also see the leaders debate where she isn’t there, I see thousands of people cheering on Jeremy Corbyn, I see the popularity of Nicola Sturgeon as she travels around Scotland, I see the meanness of the Tory Policies – take take take with nothing given back except some worn out idea of taking back control – something that wasn’t lost in the first place; I see the WASPI women, I see the foodbanks, I see the nonsensical immigration reports, I see the outraged response to I, Daniel Blake; I see the debt rising, I see the welfare reforms causing misery for the most vulnerable; I asked everyone in the coffee shop this morning but no one has an answer for me.

Who the fuck is voting Tory?

Even my mum, who has been a Tory voter most of her life, won’t vote conservative.

And yet EVERYONE, even my lovely optimistic labour voting cousin seems to believe that Theresa May will win the General Election. So…who is looking at all this stuff- the same stuff I am seeing, the same stuff that makes me shake my head – who is looking at this and saying “Oh this is great – I’ll vote for Theresa May and the conservatives”?  

The election material dropping through my door baffles me – no to a second Indy ref is  ALL the leaflets say. Ruth Davidson’s smiley face is popping through my letter box saying absolutely nothing about policies except “No to Indy ref 2”. Surely those who are definitely no will remain no and those who are definitely yes will remain Yes and those who aren’t sure, will be fed up hearing about it and looking for real policies? I can accept to a degree that the second Indy ref is pulling people who don’t want an Indy Scotland to the Tories, but the rest of the UK doesn’t have that excuse. The whole world seems to believe that the Tories will win a significant majority.  

I remember some interview training I did in the 80s which advised me to get on the other persons “hilltop” to see things from their point of view. That’s ok but what if you can’t even find the other persons hilltop to walk up and get a look? Seriously, I don’t know anyone voting Tory and except on social media where all I get is abuse if I ask nicely why they are voting Tory I haven’t spoken to a single person who is saying to me they are a Tory voter.  

So, Who the fuck is voting Tory?  

This is a perfect example of what living in an echo chamber is like. I have had my head out of the real life stuff for a while as studying, working and trying to manage my life has pushed active politicking out – I’ve been a “clicktavist” rather than an “activist”. From my Facebook, my Twitter feed, my real life conversations, the Tories seem to be so far off the piece that they will be lucky to keep their deposits, and yet I know that’s not true. We have Tory councillors all over Scotland in numbers we haven’t seen for years.  We even have Labour councillors propping up the Tories in bizarre coalitions, not born out of shared social values but out of a hate for the SNP, who have taken Labour’s self satisfied sense of entitlement and shoved it where the sun don’t shine to such a degree that they have been suspended from their party. And yet from my own wide circle of friends – both real life and online – there is no evidence of Tory voters.  

So here is the thing, and this is as much a message to my friends south of the border as it is here in Scotland – there are just under three weeks to the General Election. We must not not NOT think this is any kind of done deal. We need to get out and speak to people, knock doors and really engage. Stop clicking, start knocking. Get involved, whatever party, wherever you are, put the work in – be an activist, not a clicktivist, DO something. Because if we don’t, we will be sitting here on 9th June with a Tory majority government still asking ourselves the same question.  

Who the ACTUAL fuck is voting Tory?  

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Hello hello hello hellooooooooooooo – is there anybody out there? 

  1. heart of home on said:

    Well I am so glad you asked that question. I have been asking too. So I scoured other people’s facebook pages and found one tory voter commenting on a pal’s page. Naughty, I know but it was all in the name of rexearching to help me vote for the right reasons. AND I went ahead and asked him to explain the theory behind his comments.

    I was polite and explained I needed to understand the reasoning for believing Tory policies of austerity were a good reasonable fair thing. Guess what, no reply! He left the and has never commented there again.

    So, the following week, there i am on a first class seat on a Virgin train going to Edinburgh and someone has left their Telegraph newspaper on the table. Aha! I said and proceeded to the letters page.

    Apparently what consittutes social comment in the readship of the Telegraph is as follows;-
    – never mind there isn’t enough free parking at hospitals for the patients’ visitors, there isn’t enough for staff!
    – if only people who carried knives went out the door knowing clearly that they would be stopped and searched by the police, no matter what colour they were, they would think twice and leave the knife at home;
    – I gae up when I got the stuff about people and dogs and the nasty neighbour down the street.

    I read a couple more, all with the same sense of paternalisitic, ‘if only they could think of us first’, and ‘think like us from our safe economic and priviledged couch seat here’ then the world would be a better place.

    my conclusion? Tory voters are cowards and sneekily don’t show their faces and call themselves society-minded because they have been taught that that is how you slip by without being noticed.

    I am now thinking we should keep quite and see what the walls are telling us, because the truth about Tory policies and voters will never be told by the Tories and their followers.

    AND what do you mean you have only seen supporting behaviour for Corbyn and Sturgeon? Are you one of these people who refuse to watch BBC? sensibly.

  2. I’ve been working in London for a while and was thinking much the same thing. I can understand that many of the people I actually work with will be voting Tory – I have a good well paid job and rub shoulders with people who are comfortable even though they live or at least work in London. While I’ve always subscribed to voting for a better life for more than just myself I know there are others that want to shore up what they’ve got without looking at the plight of others. I don’t agree with them but I understand their rationale. What I don’t understand are the voices I sometime hear outside of work, people who should never vote Tory in a gazillion years (which seems to be the estimated duration of this regime) are perhaps not happy to vote Tory but are going to anyway. They don’t trust Europe, they maybe believed a few things because they were written on busses (and if you can’t trust the side of a bus who can you trust?), they read the Sun and watch Sky and the BBC, they think (perhaps rightly) that Jeremy Corbyn couldn’t form a government even if he had 650 MPs, that he would give in to fringe groups (like the SNP) that are portrayed as bogeymen who will allow our land to overrun by coloured faces and Eastern Europeans who will steal our jobs, our homes, our children’s schools, our health service and that we stand on the brink of a great and glorious chapter in the British Empire where we tell Johnny foreigner where to get off, crush the rebellious Scots and march at the head of a new world order in step with Donald Trump.

    To paraphrase, the people voting Tory are fucking stupid with a capital fucking. Really, really unbelievably, bewilderingly brain dead.

    But that doesn’t mean they are bad people (well all except that bald guy with the St George’s Cross hanging from his window who was hurling abuse at the world in general); they’ve been let down. They’ve been promised so much so often only to see those unfulfilled promises shed by politicians over and over again. They were let down over Europe by both sides, they’ve been let down by Labour, the LibDems and they are being let down by the Tories now. The media are pushing the Tories as the only sensible choice, it makes me think of drug dealers. Yes, they may get their initial hit with some immigration controls but when they wake up the morning after they’ll find they are jobless, penniless and ultimately hopeless. I doubt that “I told you so” will bring comfort to either of us. I just wish there was more I could do to prevent it all.

  3. I have met them. I have been out on the doors at Culloden today. There are worse, the young lady who wasn’t going to vote. Was not for this the Emily Davidson threw herself under the King’s horse?
    I see it in the little old lady who has always been a Tory and who trusts them with her pension. There are others who don’t want anything to do with the SNP and would send us away with blows if they could because they don’t want their position of privilege changed. There are others for whom the talk of a Referendum scares them rigid.
    Of course this is made up for with the majority of people, old and young who are going to vote SNP.
    I agree that so many of the people feel let down by what has happened. They are the ones who have suffered from globalisation and the whole neoliberal carry on
    I have never been so surprised at May and her lock on a second referendum. That there’d is popular demand for one. Well we would hardly run one if we thought that we would loose would we? 2014 was because we won an election we were supposed to loose and it was in the manifesto.
    Tory voters, especially geriatric Tory voters like the poor will be always with us. However we who are progressive have to see how we can carry things forward. We have ignored the theory. We need to get it back. I have recommended to my fronds that they start here in this article, not because I necessarily accept all of it but because it provides us a starting point for the change which there must be.

  4. kaledonia on said:

    I felt the same after the Referendum – I was so sure the ‘yes’ camp had won, I was completely bewildered when I heard we’d lost. I was so sure because I had unwittingly surrounded myself with like-minded people – I went to the pro Indy hustings, I hear Nicola at Eden Court and Jim Sillars at the Spectrum centre. I was so aghast (still am, really) that I felt the vote had been rigged. Everyone I spoke to coming out of the Polling Station that day had said they voted for Independence. I thought I knew people, empathised with people, could tell when they were lying. So to me, the only explanation was that there had been tampering. Ruth and the postal vote, the delay on the A9 and diversion of the van coming to the count? So many places that were pro Indy facing a no vote? Didnt make any sense to me – still doesn’t. And I’m still not convinced that enough security of an unbiased kind is in place to stop boxes of voting papers being made to appear or disappear, particularly in ‘swing’ constituencies. That is why I have started to engage with people, out of hours. I have several yellow and black work outfits. We all must try harder!

  5. I live in the one party Labour state of Greater Manchester and I can tell you that any class consciousness about voting Labour has gone. With all the decent jobs, services and facilities that have been happily privatised by Labour, why would your average person believe that Lab is better than Tory or anyone else?? And Lab is worried. In my local town we have never, in 20 years, had GE hustings, well we are this time round. In the recent Greater Manchester mayoral elections, Lab of course got in, but only on an average 26% turnout. Says it all. No wonder they are worried, now we just need a decent party like the SNP to vote for.
    solidarity LS

  6. Reblogged this on The Night Owl and commented:
    I couldn’t have said it better myself!

  7. Oh the Tories are here in force in this south-eastern corner of Scotland. I’ve decided being Tory is a lifestyle choice. It goes with money, owning your home, having a horse in the adjoining stables or stabled nearby. But mainly it goes with people who want to be part of the whole Tory set and all that means – the invitations to be on this or that, running committees and organisations (like community councils), being part of a social circle that has afternoon teas and drinks parties, as well as full-blown parties and balls. They entertain MSPs and candidates, wheeling them around agricultural shows, talks and events, introducing them to all those who matter, those who’ve been given gongs for services rendered (usually by others), retired colonels, Lord Lieutenants, Masters of the Hunt (I’m sure they still meet to talk of old times and plot to bring them back), captains of industry, landowners, everyone who MATTERS.

    Yes, voting Tory is a lifestyle. You change your vote or even show a wobble and before you know it you have been dropped, shunned, kicked out to vote LibDem or whatever i.e. those other nasty parties whose names never pass their lips.

    As for policies, what do policies matter when the sole fabric of your social life depends on voting Tory?

Leave a Reply

